Abum Review: Thundercat – The Golden Age of Apocalypse (2011)

I went into Golden Age of Apocalypse pretty much not knowing at all what to expect. I’m not gonna lie, I was not expecting a jazz fusion album. I can’t exactly say that I’m some sort of afficianado of the genre; hell, before listening to this album, I don’t think I’ve heard a single jazz fusion song in my whole life. That being said, I was surprised how much I found myself liking this album when all was said and done. Thundercat does a good job of making you feel like you should dress in a Bill Cosby sweater while simultaneously break dancing; the songs here are an awesome mix of traditional jazz elements and glitchy electronic beats. Hmm, mixing two genres of music together, could that be why they call it jazz fusion?! Wow! It’s all starting to make sense now! Stephen Bruner, the man behind Thundercat, is a seriously awesome bassist, and pretty much every track on this features some mind-boggingly crazy bass work. Some of the tracks have vocals, and they kind of sound like a lighter, higher-pitched Joe Jackson, which is of course awesome. The only knock I have against this album is that there isn’t a whole lot of variety among the tracks. This really isn’t a huge issue given how short the album is (37 minutes), and the songs here sound so good that having more of the same is certainly welcome. If you’re willing to broaden your musical horizons and give some jazz fusion a try, you definitely won’t be disappointed with what you find here.

4.5/5

Watch vintage motorcycles in slow motion set to a totally rad bass solo. Because that’s what jazz fusion’s all about!

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment

